Oct 25 – 27, 2023
America/Los_Angeles timezone

The forthcoming generation of experiment in the search for neutrinoless double-beta decay will approach the ton-scale in sensitive mass and attain critical sensitivity for the inverted mass ordering. A moment of discovery seems palpable — yet it cannot be denied that in any of the experimental campaigns proposed or in construction, the dreaded curse of unexpected radioactivity-induced backgrounds may still lurk. Xenon, in liquid or gas phase, will be among the contenders for discovery, and perhaps uniquely, provides unique promise for unmatched discrimination against backgrounds through detailed event topology features and detection of the daughter barium ion. New ideas are emerging and a workshop to explore possible approaches in technique and collaboration in the near-term is timely. This workshop, second in a series, brings together the community of neutrinoless double-beta and dark matter experimentalists working toward the realization of next-generation monolithic experiments with xenon towards the kilotonne scale.


Please register below to attend the workshop. We are also hosting an optional poster session and lightning talks which you can submit an abstract using the submission portal below. If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to email Krishan Mistry (krishan.mistry@uta.edu) or Leslie Rogers (rogersl@anl.gov).



  • Challenges towards the kTonne scale: scaling detector components and architecture, calibration of large detectors, radiopurity, xenon acquisition, etc.

  • Future Light and Charge Readout: camera imaging, single electron counting, novel methods, large scale readout

  • Novel TPCs: additives, new concepts and more! (e.g. what additives can we exploit to maximize the potential of TPCs, time for new TPC ideas and potential collaborative work)

  • Daughter Tagging and Ion Transport 

  • Physics program of a kTonne detector


Organizing committee:

  • Leslie Rogers (Argonne National Lab)
  • Krishan Mistry (University of Texas, Arlington)
  • Brian Lenardo (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory)
  • David Nygren (University of Texas, Arlington)
  • Mike Heffner (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)


Scientific advisory committee:

  • Laura Baudis (University of Zurich)
  • Thomas Brunner (McGill University)
  • Jon Engel (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)
  • Giorgio Gratta (Stanford University)
  • Roxanne Guenette (University of Manchester)
  • Atsuko Ichikawa (Tohoku University)
  • Kunio Inoue (Tohoku University)
  • Xiangdong Ji (University of Maryland)
  • Kyle Leach (Colorado School of Mines)
  • Justo Martin-Albo (University of Valencia)
  • David Moore (Yale University)
48/1-112C/D - Redwood C/D
2575 Sand Hill Rd Menlo Park, CA 94025
The call for abstracts is open
You can submit an abstract for reviewing.
Registration for this event is currently open.