

# **HPS EC Report**

S. Stepanyan (JLAB)

HPS Collaboration meeting
SLAC, June 23-25, 2021





## **HPS Executive Committee**

- Members: Tim Nelson, Maurik Holtrop, John Jaros, Stepan Stepanyan, Marzio de Napoli, Omar Moreno, Norman Graf, Rafo Paremuzyan
- Website on confluence with Meeting Summaries

https://confluence.slac.stanford.edu/display/hpsg/HPS+Executive+Committee

#### **HPS Executive Committee**

Created by john a. jaros, last modified by Sepan Stepanyan on May 15, 2020

Present Committee membership: Spokespeople plus Omar Moreno, Rafayel Paremuzyan, John Jaros, Marzio de Napoli, and Norman Graf. Stepan Stepanyan as chair.

The role of the executive committee is outlined in the bylaws(pdf). Minutes of EC Meetings are summarized in the meeting list below.

The EC formally approves thesis topic proposals in accord with HPS Thesis Policy 2.pdf .Approved and suggested topics

are listed in HPS Thesis Topics.ppt .

The EC has established a policy for shift taking, given here: HPS Shift Policy 3.0.pdf.

The EC has reviewed and collected procedures for blinding, analyzing, presenting, and publishing HPS physics results. They include rules for presenting HPS results in theses. They are here:Procedures for Presenting and Publishing Physics Results in HPS (003).DOCX

The HPS Executive Committee originally consisted of F-X Girod, M. Graham, T. Maruyama, T. Nelson, and the three HPS spokespeople, M. Holtrop, S. Stepanyan, and J. Jaros (Chair). Regular members were first elected early in February 2012. Girod and Maruyama were elected to 2-year terms; Graham and Nelson to one-year terms. An election for new members was conducted at the June Collaboration meeting, 2013. In this election, T. Nelson was re-elected, and R. Dupré was elected. At the June Collaboration meeting of 2014, F-X Girod and Takashi Maruyama were re-elected for another 2 year term. At the July Collaboration meeting of 2015 in Orsay, Tim Nelson and Raphael Dupre were re-elected for another 2-year term.

At the April Collaboration meeting in 2016 at SLAC, Nathan Baltzell and Matt Graham were elected, replacing F-X Girod and Takashi Maruyama.

At the May 2018 Collaboration meeting at JLAB, John Jaros stepped down as a co-spokesperson and EC chair. Tim Nelson became a co-spokesperson of HPS together with Maurik Holtrop and Stepan Stepanyan. Collaboration reelected Raphael Dupre and elected a new member, Marzio de Napoli, to EC.

At the November 2019 collaboration meeting at JLAB collaboration elected Rafayel Paremuzyan and Omar Moreno to replace Nathan Baltezell and Matt Graham.

At the May 2020 virtual meeting, collaboration elected Norman Graf to replace Raphael Dupre, Marzio de Napoli was reelected for another term.





## EC activities

Since the last collaboration meeting, we had 11 meetings focused on three main items:

- Preparations to the upcoming run regular updates on hardware and software developments, discussed the run documentation, organization of shifts
- 2016 data analysis significant advancement, the analysis review committee approved unblinding data L1L2 analysis;
- advancing in the calibration and processing of 2019 good progress, aiming to start data processing in the fall of 2021;

### Other things discussed

- Organization of MC for 2019 and 2021 runs
- Organization of the collaboration meeting (this one)





## Amendment to the HPS Bylaws

Approved final version of the "Management Plan for the HPS experiment" and the HPS working groups, Bylaws have been amended as of 01/08/2021

Working groups	Coordinators	EC oversight person
DAQ systems	Sergey Boyarinov and Ryan Herbst	Marzio De Napoli
Trigger	Valery Kubarovsky	Marzio De Napoli
Slow controls	Nathan and Omar	Rafo Paremuzyan
Data Quality Monitoring	Matt Graham	Norman Graf
SVT	Tim Nelson	Stepan Stepanyan
ECal and Hodo	Rafayel Paremuzyan	Marzio De Napoli
Beamline	Stepan Stepanyan	Marzio De Napoli
Analysis	Matt Graham and Cameron Bravo	Tim Nelson
Calibration and reconstruction	Norman Graf and PF Butti	Omar Moreno
Monte Carlo simulations	Tongtong Cao	Maurk Holtrop
Software and computing	Norman Graf	Maurik Holtrop





## Support RG-I (HPS) Task Force

Overview RG-C RG-H RG-I RG-J RG-L RG-M RG-N

(click here dr to edit this task force)

#### Members

- S. Stepanyan (PI)
- B. Miller
- R. Paremuzyan

#### Documentation

Preliminary To-Do-List [3]

#### Meetings

Will meet monthly, at 1:30 pm, dates below. The bluejeans - https://bluejeans.com/106716488 ☑

- September 22, 2020
- October 20, 2020
- November 24, 2020
- December 15, 2020
- January 19, 2021
- February 22, 2021
- March 30, 2021
- April 20, 2021
- May 25, 2021





## Goals for the next six months

### Prioritized:

- Complete detector and software development work, install HPS and run
- 2. Publication of 2016 results, both resonance search and displaced vertex search
- 3. Complete calibration and start processing of 2019 data





## Next Collaboration meeting

## October/November 2021, remote, organized by JLAB

At the next collaboration meeting we should elect or re-elect 2 members of the Executive Committee to replace Rafayel Paremuzyan and Omar Moreno

We miss the established timeline (from Bylaws):

Election of new committee members, including the Chairperson of the Executive Committee, will take place at the last scheduled collaboration meeting during the spring so that new members may take their positions starting September 1 of each year.



